While last Saturday’s activities at the DER Racing Series event in Thunder Valley were cancelled, weather held off long enough for competition to be completed in all categories on Sunday.

Chris Barker of Morehead, Ky. came up the winner in an extremely close Super Pro final round. Barker had a .009 reaction time and a 5.267 elapsed time (5.26 dial-in) at 131.05 to defeat Trevor Denton from Bristol, Va. Denton left the line with a .017 R.T. and completed his run in 4.916 seconds (4.91 dial-in).

Rogersville’s Richard Newman defeated Steve Foley of Barboursville, Ky. in Sunday’s Pro division final. Foley lost the race at the line when he jumped the start and received a red light to disqualify himself. After seeing the red light, Newman ran faster than his dial-in (7.408 E.T. on a 7.41 dial-in) to earn the win.

Bluff City’s Jason Nelson drove to victory in the Street category over Van Greer from Kingsport. Nelson’s winning run had a .025 R.T. and a 10.813 E.T. (10.75 dial-in) at 121.90 mph. Greer left the line with a .020 R.T. but ran a little faster than his dial-in (17.031 E.T. on a 17.05 dial).

Cody Spears claimed the Trophy division final over Bluff City’s Aaron Roberts. Michelle Jacobs from Bean Station won the Motorcycle class over a red-lighting Mike Conley of Jonesborough.

Dane Shinault from Hillsville, Va. took home Junior Dragster Division II, while Ethan Hawkins of Virgie, Ky. claimed Junior Dragster Division I.

The DER Racing Series is back in action this weekend with events on Saturday and Sunday.

Gates open at 10 a.m. on Saturday, with tech inspection at 10:30 a.m. Time trials begin at noon. Gates open at 9 a.m. on Sunday, with tech at 10 a.m. and time trials scheduled for 10:30 a.m.

For more information about the DER Racing Series, please visit www.derracingseries.com or call Red Whitmore at (423) 989-6952.