Denver Maltba of Newland, N.C. came home with a breakthrough victory during last weekend’s action at the DER Racing Series event in Thunder Valley.

Maltba, a regular Junior Dragster competitor, earned his first career victory in the Super Pro division over Maryville’s Don Tipton. Despite a close race, Maltba’s .017 reaction time and 4.756 elapsed time (4.74 dial-in) at 139.80 mph were enough to help him claim the win over his opponent. Tipton used a .016 R.T. and 4.962 E.T. (4.93 dial-in) in his runner-up attempt.

Chris Johnson, also of Maryville, brought home Sunday’s Super Pro title. Johnson’s winning run consisted of a .016 R.T. and a 4.940 E.T. (4.91 dial-in) at 135.00 mph. Johnson defeated Knoxville’s Travis Nelson in the final round.

Saturday’s final in the Pro division had Blountville’s Josh Wyatt taking the victory over Randy Walters of Bluff City.  Wyatt ran close to his dial, a 7.101 E.T. on a 7.10 dial-in, to make Walters’ run for the win difficult. Wyatt left the starting line with a .034 R.T. and raced through the speed trap at 96.24 mph. Walters had a 7.025 E.T. to earn second place.

Steve Foley from Barboursville, Ky. went to the Winner’s Circle on Sunday afternoon after he defeated Chad Harris in the Pro division. Foley’s .024 R.T. and 7.590 E.T. (7.58 dial-in) at 94.92 were enough to oust the Vinton, Va. native.

Bluff City’s Jason Nelson took home the trophy in Saturday’s Street category. Nelson defeated Darrel McGlothlin of Richlands, Va. by using a 10.775 E.T. (10.74 dial-in) coupled with a .061 R.T. at 119.34 mph. Kingsport’s Van Greer put Rodney Finchum of Newport on the trailer in Sunday’s Sportsman final round.

Saturday’s Trophy class action went to Michael Hicks of Bristol, Va. Hicks defeated Elizabethton’s Johnny Proffitte in the final round. Hicks had a .058 R.T. and completed his run in 17.414 seconds (17.24 dial-in) at 69.06 mph. Matthew Hicks from Abingdon, Va. earned the Trophy division on Sunday afternoon.

Gray’s Steve Horgash earned the Motorcycle category win by defeating Michelle Jacobs of Bean Station on Saturday. Mike Conley of Jonesborough earned Sunday’s win by upsetting Bluff City’s Jerry Turner.

Knoxville’s Joseph Beeler won Junior Dragster Division II on Saturday, while Mitch Ellison of Rogersville took the victory on Sunday.

Joseph Denton from Bristol, Va. earned the Junior Dragster Division I trophy on Saturday over Landon Stahl of Boone, N.C. Stahl, avenged the upset, defeating Rogersville’s Gabe Ellison on Sunday.

Bristol Dragway returns to action with the Thunder Valley Bracket Challenge beginning on Thursday, May 27. Racing takes place through Sunday afternoon.

For more information, please call (423) 764-DRAG or visit