Racing is underway for hundreds of kids at the 2010 NHRA Jr. Drag Racing League Eastern Conference Finals at Bristol Dragway.  Thunder Valley will host nearly 600 kids ages 8 to 17 years old and their families for the annual event presented by Viperizer Racing. 

Competitors in eight categories race in half-scale dragsters at speeds up to 85 mph on the eighth-mile track in search of both team and individual honors and a share of nearly $100,000 in savings bonds.

Today will consist of a single time trial round, followed by the first round of eliminations at 2 p.m. Saturday is slated for the remainder of eliminations and the crowning of champions in the 8 to 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 to 17 year-old age groups as well as the Team Champions from tracks throughout the eastern United States and Canada.  Each team is made up of 10 racers.

Six of the eight champions from last year’s event are on the entry list and are looking to repeat this year including No Problem Raceway racer Darian Boesch from Kenner, La; Northwest Tennessee Motorsports Park racer Morgan Keyser from Marion, Ill; Bradenton Motorsports Park racer Brian D. Miller from Winter Haven, Fla; Numidia Dragway racer Alexandra Guido from Lake Hopatcong, N.J.; and O’Reilly Raceway Park driver Cody Nott from Indianapolis, Ind.  Cardino Fornataro is also returning as last year’s 10-year-old champion as well as a member of the 2009 Team Champion from National Trail Raceway from Hebron, Ohio.

Gates at Bristol Dragway open at 8 a.m. on Saturday.  For additional information call Bristol Dragway (423) 764-DRAG (3724) or visit