Parity was the name of the game during last weekend’s DER Bracket Racing Series in Thunder Valley. No driver emerged as a dominant force, leaving Winner’s Circle wide open for anyone who wanted it.

Sevierville’s Dakota Wells answered the call on Saturday, earning the Super Pro victory over Lauren Freer of Lewisville, N.C. Wells ran close to his dial, using a 4.782 elapsed time (4.78 dial-in) at 143.17 mph, and a .010 reaction time to steal the victory from Freer.

Ken Patterson of Rockwood claimed Sunday’s Super Pro win over Bristol, Va.’s Trevor Denton . Patterson’s 1968 Plymouth left the line with a .006 R.T. and completed the run in 6.449 seconds (6.43 dial-in) at 104.58 mph.

Junior Bailey of Princeton, W.Va. defeated Richard Newman from Rogersville to take home Saturday’s Pro Division trophy. Bailey hoisted the trophy thanks to a .040 R.T. and a 10.078 second pass at 70.57 mph.

C.J. Hodges of Boone, N.C. picked up Sunday’s Pro win as soon as his opponent, Tim Griffith from Cedar Bluff, Va., turned on the red light in the final round and earned the disqualification. Hodges’ had a stout .004 R.T. and a 6.712 E.T. at 101.38 mph on his winning run.

The only racer to sweep the weekend in any category was Mike Hicks of Bristol, Va. who won both days in the Street division. Hicks raced to the win over Darrel McGlothlin from Richlands, Va. on Saturday. McGlothlin ran just .001 faster than his dial-in, giving the win to Hicks. Hicks had a .022 R.T. and ran a 9.794 E.T. at 120.41 mph

Hicks’ earned Sunday’s win in similar fashion, as Bluff City’s Jason Nelson also ran slightly faster than his dial-in during the final round of eliminations. Hicks’ cruised to the victory with a 9.797 E.T. (9.79 dial-in) at 126.28 mph.

Dylan Howard of Corryton ran dead-on his dial to earn Saturday’s Junior Dragster Division I title over Devin Kiser, also of Corryton. Howard left the line with a .035 R.T. and motored down the track with a 9.070 E.T. (9.07 dial-in) at 71.81 mph. Landon Stahl from Boone, N.C. earned the Division I crown on Sunday.

Junior Dragster Division II saw Knoxville’s Joseph Beeler capture Saturday’s win as Jonathan Hill of Roan Mountain turned on the red light in the final round. Beeler reacted with a .015 R.T. and raced to the win with a 7.920 E.T. at 81.41 mph. Dane Shinault from Hillsville, Va. defeated Dylan Kiser, another Corryton resident, for Sunday’s win. Shinault’s winning pass included a .025 R.T. and a 7.999 E.T. at 78.20 mph.

Dustin Lee from Mohawk rode to Saturday’s Motorcycle class win over Mike Conley of Jonesborough. Lee had a .217 R.T. and a 7.174 E.T. at 85.47 mph in the final round. Conley avenged his loss, however, coming back on Sunday to defeat a red-lighting Jason Haynes in the final. Conley’s ride to victory started with a .160 R.T. and a 7.687 E.T. at 83.86 mph.

Bluff City’s Aaron Roberts defeated Ben Knight of Bristol to earn the Trophy class on Saturday. Both drivers were faster than their dial-ins, with Roberts closer to the mark. Roberts had a .046 R.T. and raced to victory with a 17.987 E.T. at 71.62 mph. Tanya Elliot from Gate City, Va. drove to Sunday’s victory over Roberts who turned on the red light in the final. Elliot had a .261 R.T. in the final and drove through the finish line in 17.231 seconds at 76.89 mph.

Bristol Dragway hosts its next event, the Inaugural K&N Spring Fling 20’s, April 22-25. The event includes an opening day $10,000-to-win race on Thursday and is highlighted by three $20,000-to-win races on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

For more information about any of Bristol Dragway’s events, please call (423) 764-DRAG or visit