Before the first race car touched the track, Mark Oswald and Brian Corradi tuned their way to a victory in the Ninth Annual Bristol Dragway Celebrity Golf Benefit presented by Alpha Natural Resources Thursday at the Country Club of Bristol.

Their team posted a 53 to win the tournament, which raised more than $36,000 to benefit the Bristol Chapter of Speedway Children’s Charities. Mike Neff’s team also scored 53, but lost the tiebreaker.

Rex Henley, Tim Swecker, Mark Cooke, Keith Cochran, Oswald and Corradi composed the winning team.

Several NHRA celebrities took part in the tournament and enjoyed an amazing afternoon of beautiful weather one day before the opening round of qualifying for the Ford Thunder Valley Nationals.

Among the drivers taking part were Neff, Greg Anderson, Jason Line, Clay Millican, Terry McMillen and Allen Johnson.

NHRA fans know the drivers are some of the most accessible in sports, and the Celebrity Golf Benefit is just another example of that.

At the track, every ticket is a pit pass, giving fans amazing access to meet the fearless men and women who pilot these extreme machines. Fans also can watch the teams as they thrash to prepare their cars for the next round of competition, and feel the unique experience that is the Ford NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals.

Anyone looking for a last-minute Father’s Day gift should give dad a trip to Thunder Valley. If a day at the track is new for dear old dad, the hospitable staff in Thunder Valley will ensure his first time to the track is a memorable one. Thunder Valley 101, complete with its own play-by-play radio station, will explain drag racing so every novice fan can get “up to speed” quickly.

Gates open at 9 a.m. on Friday, June 15 with the first round of Pro Qualifying slated for 5 p.m.  The pro cars will return at 7:30 p.m. for the exciting night qualifying round. Gates open at 7:30 a.m. on Saturday, June 16 with Pro Qualifying set for noon and 2:30 p.m. Sunday’s action kicks off when gates open at 8:30 a.m. and Final Eliminations begin at 12:00 noon.