Bristol’s Ben Knight came home as the big winner in the DER Bracket Racing Series last weekend in Thunder Valley. Knight swept the Motorcycle competition, taking home wins on both Saturday and Sunday.

On Saturday, Knight sped through the finish line in 6.251 seconds (6.22 dial-in) at 109.92 mph, giving him the win over his opponent David Elder of Dandridge. 

During Sunday's final round, Knight raced to victory with a .074 reaction time and a 6.241 E.T. (6.23 dial-in) at 115.30 mph.  Knight defeated Stewart Dollar who turned on the red light in the final round.

Roan Mountain’s Scotty Johnson took the Saturday win in the Super Pro division with a .023 R.T. and a 6.017 E.T (6.01 dial-in) at 113.24 mph against his opponent Vance Houston of Newland, N.C. Houston had a .025 R.T and a 4.905 E.T (4. 87 dial-in) at 136.04 mph in his runner-up effort. 

Sunday’s Super Pro victor was William Daniels, also of Newland, N.C., who claimed the win with a 0.28 R.T and a 7.180 E.T (7.17 dial-in) at 91.68 mph.  Travis Nelson of Knoxville ran a 4.883 E.T. (4.83 dial-in) to fall just short of the Winner’s Circle.

In Pro division action, Richlands, Va. native Tim Griffith took the tree with a .016 R.T. against Mitchell McKinney of Newland, N.C.  Griffith also saw the finals on Sunday night against Richard Newman of Rogersville, but red lighted.  Newman pulled through for the win with a .064 R.T joined with a 7.513 E.T. (7.50 dial-in) at 87.91 mph. 

For Saturday’s Sportsman class, John Isom of Bristol earned the win from Mooresburg’s Brian Dunnigan.  Isom had a .033 R.T with a 9.917 E.T. (9.91 dial-in) and a speed of 135.86 mph, while Dunnigan turned on the red light.

Roan Mountain’s Chrystal Freeman took the Saturday win in the Trophy division from Tanya Elliott of Cedar Bluff, Va.  Freeman had a .080 R.T. and a 16.127 E.T. (16.00 dial-in) at 86.42 mph for the win. 

Sunday’s Trophy class winner was Bill Roberts of Bluff City.  Elliott made a second appearance to the finals but came up short to Roberts.

In the Saturday Junior Dragster Division I, Roan Mountain’s Garrett Freeman took the win in the final round defeating Drew Smith of Barbourville, Ky.  On Sunday, Smith got another shot at the Winner’s Circle and took it from Brianna Bailey of Glade Spring, Va.

In the Jr. Dragster Division II action, Jesse Edens of Elizabethton won on Saturday and Gabe Ellison took Sunday’s win.